Sign In
Sapphire Beryl Ruby Emerald Emerald Onyx

Board of Trustees

An independent Board of Trustees is responsible for providing the Scheme's strategic direction, overseeing the implementation of the Scheme's strategic plan by Scheme Management and overseeing the management of risk.  The Board of Trustees comprise of 12 persons who are deemed fit and proper to be trustees. 50% of the trustees are elected by members by means of a postal ballot process while 50% are appointed by the Minister for the Public Service and Administration.
The Board of Trustees exercises the powers and performs the duties provided for in the registered Rules of GEMS including deciding on matters such as the Scheme's benefits and contributions.

The Board of Trustees currently comprises of the following people:


Chairperson: Ms Nontobeko Ntsinde (tenure expires on 31 July 2019)

Deputy Chairperson: Ms Nombulelo Mkhumane (tenure expires on 27 September 2020)

Dr Esthras Confidence Moloko (tenure expires on 27 October 2022)

Dr Izak Jacobus Van Zyl (tenure expires on 29 July 2020)


Mr Daniel De Villiers (tenure expires on 31 July 2019)

Mr Nkosinathi Theledi (tenure expires on 26 September 2019)


Dr Josef Adriaan Breed (tenure expires on 29 July 2020)

Mr Jan Stephanus Roux (Re-elected, tenure expires on 29 July 2020)


Mr Eelco Boudewijn de Vries (tenure expires on 22 July 2019)

Mr Cornelius Johannes Booyens (tenure expires on 22 July 2019)

Mpfariseni Erasmus Phophi

Dr Clarence Mazangwandile Mini (tenure expires on 29 July 2020)

Mr Mpfariseni Erasmus Phophi (tenure expires on 25 September 2023)



General Enquiries >

0860 00 4367 (Call Centre) More Contacts >